© 2023 All rights reserved
Boating (and other) Rules
The 2020 Twin Lakes Boating Regulations comply with all state regulations. We further ask all boaters to consider the following for the safety and enjoyment of all:
- Treat all boaters, lake residents, and wildlife with respect and consideration.
- Remember that sound carries over water – be considerate and do not make excessive noise, especially at dusk and beyond.
- Help us keep the lakes safe, clean, and trash free.
- All boaters must be familiar and in compliance with all regulations for safe boating including right of way rules, safety equipment, and operation of watercraft as specified by the State of Connecticut in the current edition of the Connecticut Boater’s Guide, Rules and Resources. See https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DEEP/Boating/boating_guide/boaterguidepdf.pdf?la=en
Below is a short summary of Connecticut boating regulations that apply to Twin Lakes. Please refer to the current edition of the Connecticut Boater’s Guide as indicated above for all rules and regulations.
- Boating laws are strictly enforced on Twin Lakes by the resident State Trooper. Failure to follow the laws may result in a fine.
- Residents of Connecticut, persons owning real estate in Connecticut, or persons with vessels registered in Connecticut must have either a Safe Boating Certificate or a Certificate of Personal Watercraft Operation to legally operate any boat with a motor, or non-motorized sailboat 19 ½ feet or longer. See regulations for exceptions, requirements and reciprocity.
- Town ordinance prohibits speeds above 35mph with a speed limit of 6 mph within 200 feet of a vessel or dock and ½ hour after sundown or sunrise.
- It is illegal to land float planes on the lakes.
- One USCG approved personal floatation device (PFD) per person is required in every boat which must fit each intended user. Children under 13 must wear a PFD at all times. Due to the temperature of the water, a PFD must be worn by all boaters from October 1 to May 31, including those using canoes, kayaks and paddle boards.
- Boat traffic shall move in a counterclockwise direction when pulling water skiers or tubing. A spotter aged 12 or older must be present at all times.
- Personal watercraft (PWC) must abide by all boating regulations, including speed limits and other requirements specific to PWC operation. See CT Boater’s Guide for specific requirements. Reckless use of PWC is never permitted.
- Navigation rules (part of Federal Law) require all vessels (including manually propelled vessels such as canoes, kayaks and paddle boards) to have audible signaling devices (horn or whistle).
- Appropriate navigation lighting consistent with state and Coast Guard regulations regarding the type (power boat, sailboat, paddle board, canoe, etc.) and length of the watercraft, must be used on all watercraft when operating after sundown.
- Report all violations and/or concerns to the Resident Trooper, Troop B: (860)626-1820, option 7, or call 911 in an emergency.